SMILE! everyday

韓国TVドラマVol42 Japanese Magazine[ENG TRANS]

Posted on: April 22, 2011

  Singing, Acting, comedy he had it all and 2011 remain an active year

Lee Seung Gi had his first lead role in Brilliant Legacy and followed by My Girlfriend is Gumiho. Both drama were a success. Apart from being an actor, he is also a singer. His OST for his drama also reached the No.1 spot in the music chart. At the same time he is also very active in variety shows. For the past few years, as a multi-entertainer, he is well received in Korea.

Lee Seung Gi has never been complacent in what is he doing instead he will give all his best. I had the opportunity to meet him at MGIAG filming location.

A person who is willing to eat meat for his girlfriend’s sake
“My Girlfriend is a Gumiho” is your first comedy drama. What is your thought?

Before MGIAG, I was already very interested in comedy. In a comedy, it is very important for casting crews to be able to flow and co-operate. There were times I thought I had acted well but when you are actually acting it out with co-stars it was totally a different thing. Through this drama, I realize that acting in a comedy is not that easy after all.

Which part of the comedy has left a deep impression on you?  

When I was chased by the wild boar in episode 1.  We took 2 days to just film the scene. The 1st day, the filming crew shot a scene of a real running boar. On the 2nd day, the scene was filmed using CG. Actually a camera was on the replica of the boar and pushed by the crews. If it is a real boar, I’ll be overtaken by it at the speed I’m running.

In the drama both of you acted as a pair of lover, does this increase your desire to be in a relationship?

Yes it does,during the filming of the drama. When I was filming with SMA, I did tell myself that it would be nice if I could meet someone l like after the drama end. The drama has in a way satisfied that desire. In actual fact, I think it will be a very joyous moment if you are able to meet someone like Miho.
Miho has to eat meat everyday, what would you do if your girlfriend wants to eat meet everyday too?

SG: Everyday? I think it should be fine if it is only once a day. If she really like to eat meat I will still buy for her. I personally love meat too. I won’t see this as a burden to me.

To what extent are you able to tolerate the waywardness of your girlfriend?

If I can do it I’ll tolerate her in my lifetime. However, if I know that I won’t be able to do I’ll reject her in the very first place. Why? It will be a disappointment to her if I were to agree to it out of impulse but was not able to fulfill it in the end. If I know that I am able to do it, I’ll do it and if I can’t then I won’t do it. This is my view.

In episode 1, there was a great response from the viewers in the passing of bead scene. What was the filming like?

Originally, the script only said passing of bead but did not mention through mouth. At the filming set, in order to make the scene more real, the script was change on the spot after some discussion with the director and production crews.

Were you embarrassed?

Of course I am. Those who has not done it will not understand. Because we do not what will be the end result through CG, we actually filmed a long time. In fact it was longer than we thought. Because you need to do scene with your eyes wide open this made it more embarrassing.

In Brilliant Legacy, Han Hyo Joo once complained that because of Lee Seung Gi, the scene was not well taken. Did it add any pressure to you now?

HHJ not only said it to the media she personally said it to me too (laugh). Yes I was pressurized by what she said. I always wanted look good in my scene but after my acting with HHJ, I realized that I need to make my co-star look good too. Hence, I was a bit worry too. Because of inexperience, I’ll still be very nervous.

What is your impression when singing the theme song for the drama?

I suggested singing “Losing my mind”. This is the theme song for the drama. I was also the one that suggest changing the title of the song to “Losing my mind”.

And the ballad “From now I will love you”?

The song was written by a writer I know. I almost didn’t get to sing the song. During the filming of the drama, my schedule was jammed packed. I only have 4 hours to record the song. During the recording time, I was having flu, and because of lack of sleep it also affected my throat. However, the moment I stepped into the recording studio, my throat was alright. In fact I only used 2 hours to record the song. This is the first time I took such a short time to record a ballad. For a song to be well received, it must be well sang and the release timing must also be right. This song is a very example.

You are known for your ballad but lately you are into fast tempo songs.

As a singer, many will like to try out all type of songs.  However, your voice will need to blend with the song you are singing. There are many ballad singers who are not suitable to sing dance tracks and I am one of them. I am not good at dancing too. An up till now, my choreographed dance on stage has never been release. I am happy when doing drama and variety drama as I can express myself freely as I do not face the kind of pressure I face when performing on stage.

You have recently collabrated with a rock band. Are into rock music now?

When I first debuted, in order to overcome something that I am not good at, I chose to try out ballad. My voice is actually not suitable for singing ballad hence I’ve to practice very long. I’m good in rock. I can sing rock anytime. Because rock is what I like therefore I will not give it up. I’ll accumulate more experience now, and it will be late if I want try rock later on. However, I feel that now is the time to go into rock music. I’ll have a few rock songs in my future project.

You debuted in 2004, you are considered a sunbae in the music scene. What is your impression on seeing the heobae?

There have been many hubae in this past 2, 3 years and before that I used to be the youngest. Now when I’m recording some program, in term of experience and age, I’m in the middle. Sometime it just beyond my comprehension, however, I know that those younger than me will continue to increase and sunbaes with vast experience will also continue to increase. Therefore it is very dangerous for me to only see in one direction. There are still many sunbaes in the music industry that I can learn from.

If you were to launch your debut in Japan later on, what would you like to be involve?

Up to now, I am still singing ballad therefore I would like to sing more emotional songs. Of I’m not saying it has to be just one type of music. I will type different types of music.

eng translation @simeunice based on chinese translation of wei wei at baidu tieba || lsgairenint.tumblr.com

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 111,395 hits
comments are very well appreciated! thank you! and, have a great day!